Oceanside DUI / Drunk Driving Lawyer
Being charged with DUI in the state of California is a stressful and extremely serious situation. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest and the charges leveled against you, you could be facing anything from a one-year suspension of your driver’s license to more than a year in jail and tens of thousands of dollars in fines and penalties.
A successful defense against charges of drunk driving begins the minute you get pulled over. As such, if you have been charged with DUI in Oceanside, do not hesitate to contact the Oceanside DUI attorneys at The Law Offices of Yvonne M. Fraser. Our legal defense team has years of experience defending clients just like you against drunk driving charges, and we’re ready to put that experience to work for you.
Penalties for Drunk Driving in Oceanside
Even if this is your first time being arrested and charged with DUI, the potential penalties you face if convicted can be life changing. This is why it is essential that you contact an experienced DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible to give yourself the best chance at having the charges against you either reduced in severity or, hopefully, dismissed completely. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest and whether this is your first drunk driving charge, you could face a wide range of serious penalties, including:
- 4 days to 16 months in jail
- Up to $18,000 in fines
- Driver’s license suspension from 30 days to 4 years
- Required installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
- SR-22 filing
Any one of these penalties has the ability to affect your life, career, and financial well-being in very serious ways. To protect yourself, your freedoms, and your future, it is crucial that you reach out for help as soon as possible.
Contact an Oceanside DUI Lawyer Today for Help
If you have been charged with drunk driving, you need an experienced and dedicated attorney on your side to fight for your legal rights and your freedom. At The Law Offices of Yvonne M. Fraser, our Oceanside DUI lawyers know what it takes to effectively defend individuals charged with drunk driving in California, and we’re ready to help you. Call us today at (760) 512-1172 to learn more.
DUI/Drunk Driving FAQs
Is drunk driving a felony?
DUI charges are generally considered misdemeanors, but there are a few situations in which a DUI can be classified as a felony. In most cases, the first, second, and third DUI offenses that occur within 10 years of the first offense will be considered misdemeanors. However, the fourth DUI offense within 10 years is usually upgraded to a felony charge. Additionally, if anyone suffers bodily injury or death as the result of your DUI, the charge could be considered a felony depending on the extent of injuries and damage caused.
What is the legal drinking limit and what are the consequences for exceeding this limit?
In California, the legal drinking limit is .08% BAC for adults over 21. Any blood alcohol content above this level will result in DUI charges. This number is different for drivers younger than 21, who are considered above the legal limit with a BAC of .01% or higher, and commercial drivers, who are above the limit when their BAC exceeds .04%. There are various consequences for exceeding these limits and being convicted of a DUI, including jail time, thousands of dollars in fines, high insurance premiums, and the suspension of your license, to name a few.
Do California’s DUI laws apply to more than just alcohol?
Yes, DUI charges encompass more than just alcohol-related impairment. They also include driving under the influence of illegal drugs, prescription medications, and over-the-counter medications. Illegal drugs include marijuana, cocaine, heroin, and MDMA, among others; prescription medications include anything mind-altering such as Vicodin, Ambien, and Percocet; and examples of over-the-counter medications include certain antihistamines and cough syrups with active ingredients that cause impairment.